Didcot Railway Centre
GWS Logo
Didcot Railway Centre
Home of the Great Western Society

Getting Involved

Information for Members

Page last updated:
At an exhibition
Group Outings

Local Groups

The Great Western Society has local groups which organise meetings and events in the Bristol, North West (Warrington), Oxford, South West (Torbay), Swindon and Taunton areas. The groups also support the Society by undertaking practical work at Didcot or locally and through the vital elements of fundraising and local publicity.

Bristol Group

Chairman: Robert Heron
Secretary: Robin Jordan E-Mail>>

Group Events:

Bristol Group Meetings are held on Tuesday at, BAWA, 589 Southmead Road, Filton, BRISTOL, BS34 7RG (Phone: 0117 987 3244, Web: www.bawa.biz) 19:30 for 19:45 and all are welcome.

Tuesday 13 September The Severn Railway Bridge Paul Barnett
Tuesday 11 October Barrow Road Remembered Dave Cheesley
Tuesday 8 November Somewhere Around the World Mike Tyack
Tuesday 13 December Somerset & Dorset Retrospect Gerald Nichols
Tuesday 10 January GW Miscellany – Including Gems from the Soole Collection Brian Arman
Tuesday 14 February The Andrew Hook Memorial Meeting -
Group Annual Meeting, followed by a Didcot Speaker.
Tuesday 14 March Vintage Steam – Cine Films from the 1960s & 1970s at Home & Abroad Terry Nicholls

See the Group Web Site for more details: Great Western Society Bristol Group

The Great Western Society is not responsible for the content of external web sites.

Back to Top > >

North Western Group

Chairman: David Burns
Secretary: Peter Hanson

Group Events:

North West Group Meetings are held on Friday at, St. Hilda’s Clubroom, Slater St., Latchford, Warrington at 19:30 and all are welcome.

Friday 30 September Steam in Black and White Peter Spilsbury
Friday 28 October Railway Personnel Paul Shackcloth
Friday 25 November GW Steam in South Wales & South West Alf Storey
Friday 27 January North of Preston Barrie Rushton
Friday 24 February Group Annual Meeting  
Friday 31 March TBA  

Back to Top > >

Oxford Group

Chairman: Ken Bampton
Secretary: Margaret Pargeter

Group Events:

Oxford Group Meetings are held on Friday at, Pauling Human Sciences Centre, 58 Banbury Rd., Oxford at 19:30 and all are welcome.

Friday 30 September The Great Western & the Fairer Sex Dr Rosa Matheson
Friday 28 October Strictly Freight Only Brian Ringer
Friday 25 November The Paul Riley Collection (Part 2) Tony Bowles
Friday 16 December Members’ Christmas Quiz & Slides Evening  
Friday 27 January Colonel Stephens - The Man and his Railways David Powell
Friday 24 February Group Annual Meeting followed by ‘Industrial Railways Scene 1969’ John Hubbard
Friday 31 March Restoring Sentinel 7107 Andy Chapman

Back to Top > >

South West Group

Chairman: Colin Stone
Secretary: Gillian Lemar-Collings

Group Events:

South West Group Meetings are held on Saturday at, The Parish Centre, Church End Road, Kingskerswell, Torbay at 18:30 and all are welcome.

Saturday 17 September Travails of a Ferroequinologist, part I Terry McCarthy
Saturday 15 October Steam in the Hills Simon Foote
Saturday 19 November Transport Video Highlights 2015 David Brabner
Saturday 17 December Christmas Evening – Colin & Rosemary Stone Entertain,
plus ‘Another 50 Years Ago
Peter Triggs
Saturday 21 January A journey along the South Devon Coast John Risdon
Saturday 18 February Group Annual Meeting
followed by Didcot Inspirations – A World Ranging Look
Richard Antliff
Saturday 18 March An Evening with the GWS Chairman Richard Croucher

Back to Top > >

Swindon Group

Chairman: Rodney Bagshaw
Secretary: Candy Castle

Group Events:

Swindon Group Meetings are held on Friday at, Lawn Community Centre, Guildford Ave., Off Windsor Rd., Lawn, Swindon, SN3 1JE at 19:30 and all are welcome.

Friday 9 September Didcot Inspirations – a world ranging look Richard Antliff
Friday 14 October Images from the GW Trust Collection Laurence Waters
Friday 11 November Restoring Didcot’s 50 Ton Steam Breakdown Crane Peter Jennings
Friday 9 December Festive Meeting, including Members’ Slides
Friday 13 January The Withered Arm - Cab Ride presentation Pete Tough & Trevor Young
Friday 10 February Group Annual Meeting, followed by the Legendary Swindon Quiz Joe Turner
Friday 10 March Restoring Didcot's 50 ton Steam Breakdown Crane Peter Jennings

Back to Top > >

Taunton Group

Chairman: Stuart Trott E-Mail>>
Secretary: David Hartland - Tel. 01823 336262

Group Events:

Group meetings are held on the third Friday of each month, throughout the year, at Stoke St Mary Village Hall, near Taunton. TA3 5BY (unless otherwise indicated) commencing at 19.30, and all are welcome.

Friday 16 September Railways of Poole & Purbeck Colin Stone
Friday 21 October Trips, Tours & Evening Excursions
Trevor Whitfield
Friday 4 November Recent Transport Video Highlights
(Held at Rockwell Green School, Rockwell Green, nr Wellington, Somerset, TA21 9DH)
David Brabner
Friday 18 November 45 Years of Railway Tales David Hartland
Friday 16 December Midland Extremities: S&D to S&C Terry Nichols
Friday 20 January Steaming in the 1960s Alan Reeve
Friday 17 February

Group Annual Meeting,
followed by Didcot Inspirations – A World Look

Richard Antliff
Friday 17 March Carrying the Goods Quentin Hawkes

The Group also arranges a programme of events almost monthly which include an Annual Dinner, day trips to locations of railway interest, a weekend trip and an occasional longer holiday which in the past has included Ireland, the Isle of Man, and Switzerland - details of all these events can be obtained from by e-mailing Carl Honnor.

We also operate a restored Pump Trolley on various railways and this has in the past raised funds for the Group, the Society and other charities.

Back to Top > >

Recreating the golden age of the Great Western Railway