Didcot Railway Centre
GWS Logo
Didcot Railway Centre
Home of the Great Western Society

Getting Involved

Information for Members

Page last updated:
17-Feb-2018
At an exhibition
 
Group Outings

Local Groups

The Great Western Society has local groups which organise meetings and events in the Bristol, Oxford, South West (Torbay), Swindon and Taunton areas. The groups also support the Society by undertaking practical work at Didcot or locally and through the vital elements of fundraising and local publicity.

Bristol Group

Chairman: Robert Heron
Secretary: Robin Jordan E-Mail>>

Group Events:

Bristol Group Meetings are held on Tuesday at, BAWA, 589 Southmead Road, Filton, BRISTOL, BS34 7RG (Phone: 0117 987 3244, Web: www.bawa.biz) 19:30 for 19:45 and all are welcome.

Tuesday 13 February The Andrew Hook Memorial Meeting
A Didcot Speaker
Incorporating Group Annual Meeting
 
Tuesday 13 March The Great Way Round – Paddington to Penzance via Bristol & Plymouth Millbay Terry Nicholls
Tuesday 10 April Bulgarian Steam Extravaganza Dave Winter
Tuesday 8 May The Somerdale Railway & Rebuilding the Fry's Sentinel Eric Miles
Friday 27 - Sun 29 July Jewels of the Orient’ Roadmotor Outing  

See the Group Web Site for more details: Great Western Society Bristol Group

The Great Western Society is not responsible for the content of external web sites.

Back to Top > >


Oxford Group

Chairman: Ken Bampton
Secretary: Margaret Pargeter

Group Events:

Oxford Group Meetings are held on Friday at, Pauling Human Sciences Centre, 58 Banbury Rd., Oxford at 19:30 and all are welcome.

Friday 23 February Group Annual Meeting  
Friday 23 March Saturdays Only Richard Crane
Friday 27 April H.N. Gresley; The Engineer & his Achievements Chris Nettleton
Friday 25 May The Restoration & Operation of 850 "Lord Nelson" Neil Kearns

Back to Top > >


South West Group

Chairman: Colin Stone
Secretary: Gillian Lemar-Collings

Group Events:

South West Group Meetings are held on Saturday at, The Parish Centre, Church End Road, Kingskerswell, Torbay at 18:30 and all are welcome.

Saturday 17 February Group Annual Meeting followed by members’ Slides
Saturday 17 March A Trip to Alaska Rosemary & Colin Stone
Saturday 21 April A PGT Tour of New Zealand David Winter

Back to Top > >


Swindon Group

Chairman: Rodney Bagshaw
Secretary: Candy Castle

Group Events:

Swindon Group Meetings are held on Friday at, Lawn Community Centre, Guildford Ave., Off Windsor Rd., Lawn, Swindon, SN3 1JE at 19:30 and all are welcome.

Friday 9 February Group Annual Meeting, followed by our renowned Quiz Master - Joe Turner
Friday 9 March Seven Dams & the Elan Valley Railway Ken Mumford
Friday 13 April Working Life of a Railway Navvy Judy & Chris Rouse
Friday 11 May Presentation Peter Tough

Back to Top > >


Taunton Group

Chairman: Stuart Trott E-Mail>>
Secretary: David Hartland - Tel. 07711 229071

Group Events:

Group meetings are held on the third Friday of each month, throughout the year, at Stoke St Mary Village Hall, near Taunton. TA3 5BY (unless otherwise indicated) commencing at 19.30, and all are welcome.

Friday 16 February Group Annual Meeting, followed by ‘Talyllyn 150’ David Brabner
Friday 16 March Railways Around Sidmouth & Tiverton Richard Giles
Friday 20 April Titled Trains of the Southern & Western Regions & their Headboards David Peel
Friday 18 May Peter Gray's West Country Amyas Crump
Friday 15 June Seventh Colour-Rail Journey Paul Chancellor
Friday 20 July Who Knows Where the Time Goes Graham Bean

The Group also arranges a programme of events almost monthly which include an Annual Dinner, day trips to locations of railway interest, a weekend trip and an occasional longer holiday which in the past has included Ireland, the Isle of Man, and Switzerland - details of all these events can be obtained from by e-mailing Carl Honnor.

We also operate a restored Pump Trolley on various railways and this has in the past raised funds for the Group, the Society and other charities.

Back to Top > >

Recreating the golden age of the Great Western Railway